European Convention on Human Rights

The European Convention on Human Rights (hereinafter the ECHR) was signed and ratified by the original Contracting States in 1953. The Convention has a total of 47 Contracting States, not to be confused with the European Union which has a total of 28 (soon to be 27 following the withdrawal by the UK) Member States. The ECHR was drafted by the Council of Europe and upheld by the Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg.

The European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg

This page is part of the ECHR series, the key rights under the Convention will be explained and considered, beginning with some general background information, before detailing the key rights.


#1 General Background Information

#2 Article 2: Right to Life

#3 Article 3: Prohibition of Torture